Why use a blog??

It is Saturday night and I’m trying to catch up on some reading for ECMP on “Edubloggers” While digesting all of the ideas and thoughts, I remembered what happened to me when I was in my first year of teaching in South Africa. The kids had a huge assignment that counted 30% towards their year end mark. We all worked hard and many trips had been made to the public library. Everything had to be done by hand, because it was in the time of virtually no technology. After marking and grading about half of the assignments we had a fire at the school and all of it was destroyed. Just think what advantage a blog would have had in that situation. So, after reading through some “edubloggers” I am glad to see there is quite a few educators that use technology to support teaching and presentation.